2015 AIBC Recognition Award Recipients

The Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC) is pleased to announce three outstanding recipients were presented with the institute’s annual Recognition Awards in a ceremony held at the Van Dusen Gardens on November 19, 2015. The presentation included the AIBC Lifetime Achievement Award and the Barbara Dalrymple Memorial Award for Community Service. The AIBC community, friends and family gathered to celebrate volunteerism and to pay tribute to the award recipients.

The AIBC Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes current or former members who have made exceptional, sustained and significant contributions to the profession and its public appreciation in British Columbia through an outstanding, career-long body of work. The Barbara Dalrymple Memorial Award for Community Service was established in honour of Barbara Dalrymple, a respected Vancouver architect with a strong commitment to her profession and the community.

This year, the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Roger Hughes Architect AIBC FRAIC and the late Fred T. Hollingsworth Honorary Member of the AIBC, FRAIC, FAIA for their long-standing contributions to the profession of architecture. The Barbara Dalrymple Award was given to Dr. Nancy Mackin Architect AIBC in recognition of her exceptional dedication to professional and public service.

Roger HughesRoger Hughes was educated at the University of British Columbia and studied in London where he worked on a number of inner city housing projects. He returned to Vancouver and in 1976 formed Roger Hughes Architects, a firm that has evolved over four decades to become HCMA Architecture + Design. During his career, Roger’s work has adapted to changing contexts and needs while consistently being recognized for its design excellence. Over the 40 years of his practice, the firm and his work have been recognized with numerous national and international awards including six Governor General’s Awards from the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada.

Fred T. HollingsworthBorn in Oldham, England on January 8, 1917, Fred T. Hollingsworth immigrated to Canada in 1929. Plans drafted for his own house, built in 1946 and which his wife resides in to this day, led to an offer of employment at the prestigious Sharp & Thompson, Berwick, Pratt architectural firm. Fred designed the iconic Sky Bungalow, introducing what would become common features of the West Coast modern home. He has since been regarded as one of the originators of West Coast Modernism. In 1967, Fred began his own practice which he ran until 2004. Among his distinguished achievements, Fred served as AIBC president in 1971 and then president of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada in 1975. In 1976, he was awarded Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Architects.

Nancy MackinOver the past 12 years, Dr. Nancy Mackin has designed and researched spaces that help keep young people healthy. These efforts, which are all beyond her regular practice, address the issue that young people are having difficulty staying healthy. To address this issue, she has listened to young people and invited them to help envision, design and, in some cases, build the spaces that foster their health and well-being. Her efforts demonstrate her commitment to providing young people a direct voice in how, where and under what conditions they enjoy their active recreational environment. Nancy’s commitment sets a high standard for community service by an architect and makes her a worthy recipient of the Barbara Dalrymple Memorial Award for Community Service.

View photos from the 2015 AIBC Recognition Awards on FLICKR.

To learn more about the AIBC Recognition Program, visit the AIBC website.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: