AIBC Council Meeting Summary – 20 October 2015

At the 20 October 2015 council meeting, the AIBC Council dealt with the following items:

Council Motions
• Council approved the motion to modestly fund a new subcommittee of the CACB Standing Committee; the subcommittee will review the Student Performance Criteria. Funding for this will be split proportionately by members of CALA. AIBC council member Gordon Richards Architect AIBC has been chosen as one of the three architects currently on the National Standing Committee. Immediate Past President Scott Kemp Architect AIBC has been chosen as one of the three architects selected by the National Standing Committee.
• Council approved the proposed amendments to the CALA Reciprocity Agreement. Basically differential fees for out of province registrants have been removed. Under the revised agreement, one schedule of fees will apply across all jurisdictions.

Other Business
• Per Council Communications policy, a Crisis Communications Plan has been developed to deal with crisis situations, issues and events.

The next regular meeting of AIBC Council is scheduled for 10 November 2015. It will be held at the AIBC office between 11 a.m. – 3 p.m. For those interested in attending an AIBC Council Meeting, please confirm your attendance in advance by email to

2015 AIBC Annual Conference Photos Now Available

2015 AIBC Annual Conference - Welcome Sign

The 2015 AIBC Annual Conference concluded on Friday, October 30 after three full days of professional development programming, networking and celebration.

View photos from the 2015 AIBC Annual Conference on FLICKR.

All photos by Jay Shaw Photography.

Heritage BC Annual Awards

Heritage BC is now accepting nominations for its 35th Annual Awards Program. Heritage BC’s Annual Awards Program recognizes the outstanding and significant achievements in heritage conservation of individuals, organizations, groups, businesses, and governments in communities across B.C.

There are four categories for Heritage BC Awards: Heritage Conservation; Heritage Education and Awareness; Heritage Planning and Management; Ruby Nobbs Volunteer Award.

Nominations for all categories can be submitted through Heritage BC’s website. Nominations will be accepted until the end of the day December 18, 2015.

To submit an awards nomination, visit the Heritage BC website.

2016 Wood Design Awards – British Columbia

2016 Wood Design AwardsThe Wood WORKS! Wood Design Awards recognize leadership and innovation in wood use and continued excellence in the building and design community. This annual event celebrates innovative structural and architectural uses of wood and provides an opportunity for architects, engineers, building designers, builders and project owners to showcase their projects.

Nominate a deserving architect, engineer or building owner for an innovative and inspiring wood project

Celebrate excellence in wood building and design as winners are recognized before their peers, industry leaders and media at the much-anticipated annual awards event at the Vancouver Convention Centre

Recognize projects throughout BC – and now internationally with the new International Wood Design category

There is no fee required to nominate a project. Nominations are accepted in up to two categories and self-nominations are encouraged. Projects must have been completed in the past three years i.e. since December 18, 2012 and may not be resubmitted to win a second time in the same category.

Nomination deadline: December 18, 2015

To submit a nomination, visit the Wood WORKS! website.

For more information, contact Zena Caul at or 1-877-929-9663 ext. 4.

2015 AIBC Recognition Award Recipients

The Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC) is pleased to announce three outstanding recipients were presented with the institute’s annual Recognition Awards in a ceremony held at the Van Dusen Gardens on November 19, 2015. The presentation included the AIBC Lifetime Achievement Award and the Barbara Dalrymple Memorial Award for Community Service. The AIBC community, friends and family gathered to celebrate volunteerism and to pay tribute to the award recipients.

The AIBC Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes current or former members who have made exceptional, sustained and significant contributions to the profession and its public appreciation in British Columbia through an outstanding, career-long body of work. The Barbara Dalrymple Memorial Award for Community Service was established in honour of Barbara Dalrymple, a respected Vancouver architect with a strong commitment to her profession and the community.

This year, the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Roger Hughes Architect AIBC FRAIC and the late Fred T. Hollingsworth Honorary Member of the AIBC, FRAIC, FAIA for their long-standing contributions to the profession of architecture. The Barbara Dalrymple Award was given to Dr. Nancy Mackin Architect AIBC in recognition of her exceptional dedication to professional and public service.

Roger HughesRoger Hughes was educated at the University of British Columbia and studied in London where he worked on a number of inner city housing projects. He returned to Vancouver and in 1976 formed Roger Hughes Architects, a firm that has evolved over four decades to become HCMA Architecture + Design. During his career, Roger’s work has adapted to changing contexts and needs while consistently being recognized for its design excellence. Over the 40 years of his practice, the firm and his work have been recognized with numerous national and international awards including six Governor General’s Awards from the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada.

Fred T. HollingsworthBorn in Oldham, England on January 8, 1917, Fred T. Hollingsworth immigrated to Canada in 1929. Plans drafted for his own house, built in 1946 and which his wife resides in to this day, led to an offer of employment at the prestigious Sharp & Thompson, Berwick, Pratt architectural firm. Fred designed the iconic Sky Bungalow, introducing what would become common features of the West Coast modern home. He has since been regarded as one of the originators of West Coast Modernism. In 1967, Fred began his own practice which he ran until 2004. Among his distinguished achievements, Fred served as AIBC president in 1971 and then president of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada in 1975. In 1976, he was awarded Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Architects.

Nancy MackinOver the past 12 years, Dr. Nancy Mackin has designed and researched spaces that help keep young people healthy. These efforts, which are all beyond her regular practice, address the issue that young people are having difficulty staying healthy. To address this issue, she has listened to young people and invited them to help envision, design and, in some cases, build the spaces that foster their health and well-being. Her efforts demonstrate her commitment to providing young people a direct voice in how, where and under what conditions they enjoy their active recreational environment. Nancy’s commitment sets a high standard for community service by an architect and makes her a worthy recipient of the Barbara Dalrymple Memorial Award for Community Service.

View photos from the 2015 AIBC Recognition Awards on FLICKR.

To learn more about the AIBC Recognition Program, visit the AIBC website.