Architecture Grad Builds Home Office Out of 8,500 Beer Bottles

by Lloyd Alter
Treehugger, July 22, 2015

An aspiring architect in China has built his very own office using thousands of recycled beer bottles. Courtesy of Inhabitat(Image: An aspiring architect in China has built his very own office using thousands of recycled beer bottles. Courtesy of Inhabitat)

It’s tough getting work as an architect these days but I doubt Li Rongjun, a recent grad of the Inner Mongolia University of Science and Technology, will have a problem. He has built himself a lovely little office out of 8,500 beer bottles that is a great advertisement for his talents. He isn’t interested in a conventional office job, telling China News Service: There is no creativity in those places. It’s a waste of life. Whether I succeed or fail, I want to give it a go…It will allow investors to see my products in real life and see my talent.”

“I want to build an office which combines artistic beauty with pragmatism”, he tells China Daily.”It is prettier at night. When the lights go on, the room looks radiant and the green light reaches as far as the road.” Dad was a big help, lending him the 70,000 yuan and helping lay the walls, noting that “although we are a family of limited means I immediately told him he would have my complete support.” Read more…

Comments are closed.