Your 2015/2016 AIBC Council

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFront row (left to right): S. Ross Rettie, P.Eng., Mona Jahedi Architect AIBC, Darryl J. Condon Architect AIBC (President), Catherine Nickerson Architect AIBC, Steven Simons
Back row (left to right): Gordon C. Richards Architect AIBC, Chris Macdonald FRAIC, Joan Hendriks Architect AIBC (Registrar), David Yustin Architect AIBC, Scott Kemp Architect AIBC (Immediate Past President), Sean Ruthen Architect AIBC, John Etcher Architect AIBC
Absent: Danica Djurkovic Architect AIBC (Vice President), David Dove Architect AIBC, Karl W. Gustavson Architect AIBC (Treasurer), David Toole, Dr. Mark Zacharias

We are pleased to announce the 2015/2016 AIBC Council. At the annual meeting held in Vancouver on May 2, five candidates (four returning and one former councilor) were elected by acclamation.

Following the adjournment of the annual meeting, council elected its slate of officers, appointed the registrar and invited guests to council for the 2015/2016 council year.

AIBC Officers
President: Darryl J. Condon Architect AIBC
Vice President: Danica Djurkovic Architect AIBC
Treasurer: Karl W. Gustavson Architect AIBC
Registrar: Joan Hendriks Architect AIBC

Newly Acclaimed AIBC Councilors:
Darryl J. Condon Architect AIBC (President)
Mona Jahedi Architect AIBC
Catherine Nickerson Architect AIBC
Sean Ruthen Architect AIBC
David Yustin Architect AIBC

AIBC Councilors completing their second year:
Danica Djurkovic Architect AIBC (Vice President)
David Dove Architect AIBC
John Etcher Architect AIBC
Karl W. Gustavson Architect AIBC (Treasurer)
Gordon C. Richards Architect AIBC

Returning Lieutenant Governor Appointees to AIBC Council:
S. Ross Rettie, P.Eng.
Steven Simons
David Toole
Dr. Mark Zacharias

Returning UBC SALA representative to AIBC Council:
Chris Macdonald FRAIC

Guests to AIBC Council (non-voting):
Immediate Past President: Scott Kemp Architect AIBC
Intern Architect AIBC*: name to follow
Architectural Technologist Liaison: Michael Currie Architectural Technologist AIBC
IDIBC Liaison: name to follow

*Please note that this year’s sole intern architect candidate withdrew their nomination prior to the annual meeting. A recommendation from staff will be put forward to council.

The 15-member AIBC Council is comprised of 10 architects (Architects AIBC) who are elected by their peers for two-year terms (five positions in each election year); four Lieutenant Governor Appointees who are non-architect public representatives appointed by the provincial government; and one representative of The University of British Columbia School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture.

Under the Architects Act, one of the first duties of the new AIBC Council is the election of the officers and the appointment of the registrar. A non-voting officer on council, the registrar position must be held by an Architect AIBC. Over the recent past, the position was filled by a councilor although historically it was held by a member of the AIBC staff. This year Joan Hendriks Architect AIBC, who is also the institute’s Director of Registration and Licensing, is appointed as registrar.

The AIBC Council also extends an invitation to guests to sit in a non-voting capacity. The guest positions are: immediate Past-President, Intern Architect Liaison, Architectural Technologist Liaison and Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia (IDIBC) Liaison.

We welcome and look forward to working with the new 2015/2016 AIBC Council.

For a full listing of AIBC Council members as well as invited representatives, visit the AIBC web site.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: