Canada, Australia and New Zealand sign APEC Architect MRA

By Joc Digital Media
Journal of Commerce, February 21, 2015

Canada, Australia and New Zealand tonight signed a mutual recognition arrangement (MRA) that allows for fast-tracked cross-border registrations of senior architects between the three economies.

The MRA came about as a result of Canada’s, Australia’s and New Zealand’s participation in the APEC Architect Project.

All three economies maintain an APEC Architect Register of senior architects who have met a number of criteria including having at least seven years of senior experience.

As a result of the MRA, an APEC Architect in Australia or New Zealand is entitled to registration in Canada as of right, apart from being assessed about any aspects of the architectural process in Canada that is specific to Canada.

The same applies for a Canadian APEC Architect applying for registration in Australia or New Zealand. Canada is obliged under the MRA to accept Australia or New Zealand’s assurance that the Australian or New Zealand APEC Architect making the application is competent and safe to practise in terms of the generic skills, knowledge and attitudes required of an architect.

The same also applies the other way when a Canadian APEC Architect applies for registration in Australia or New Zealand. Read more…

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: