NCARB Announces Transition Plan for ARE 5.0

The National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) has announced a transition plan to guide the implementation of major improvements and changes to the Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®). Architect candidates taking the current ARE 4.0 exam when ARE 5.0 launches will have the opportunity to receive credit for divisions passed in the current ARE 4.0 version.

The new ARE 5.0 will launch in late 2016, while ARE 4.0 will remain available for at least 18 months after the launch. The extension of the old exam will allow candidates the option of either finishing all exam divisions in the familiar current format, ARE 4.0, or transition to the new exam.

ARE 5.0: The Basics
The main things that architects and prospective architect candidates (interns) need to know are:

  • ARE 5.0 will launch in late 2016.
  • It will include six standalone divisions, compared to the seven in ARE 4.0, that align to commonly defined professional architect activities of practice management, project management, and project design.
  • The current “graphic vignette” software, which has been in use since the exam was computerized in 1997, will be replaced with new question types.

Read more on this topic.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: