Canada ranks first on US Green Building Council List of Top 10 Countries for LEED

Canadian Architect
May 24, 2014

The US Green Building Council (USGBC) recently released its list of the top 10 countries for LEED® outside of the United States, on which Canada ranked No. 1. The list demonstrates the global reach of the movement that is transforming the built environment into healthy, high-performing structures that benefit the planet and all of its people.

“The global community is increasingly recognizing the imperative for action as we combat the extraordinary challenge of worldwide climate change,” said Rick Fedrizzi, president, CEO and founding chair, USGBC. “LEED¹s success in Canada represents not only a growing recognition of its demonstrated benefits for human health and operational cost savings, but also its unparalleled potential to be part of the solution to a warming planet and rising sea levels.”

The list of the top 10 countries for LEED reflects the global adaptability of the world¹s most widely used and recognized system guiding the design, construction, operations and maintenance of green buildings. To date, project teams in more than 140 countries and territories have implemented LEED in their building projects, taking advantage of its global, regional and local applicability to create structures that mitigate greenhouse gas emissions; create healthier indoor environments for workers, students and community members; and lower utility bills for building owners through reduced energy and water use. Read more…

Montreal architect Phyllis Lambert to receive lifetime achievement award

By John R. Kennedy
May 23, 2014, Global News

TORONTO — Montreal’s Phyllis Lambert, founder of the Canadian Centre for Architecture, will be honoured with a prestigious award next month in Venice.

Lambert, 87, will receive the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the Venice Biennale for Architecture on June 7.

CCA Founding Director Emeritus Phyllis Lambert named 2014 Venice Biennale Golden Lion recipient
CCA (@ccawire) May 20, 2014

“Phyllis Lambert has made a huge contribution to architecture,” said Dutch architect Rem Koolhaas, curator of this year’s biennale, in a release.

“Without her participation, one of the few realizations in the 20th century of perfection on earth — the Seagram Building in New York — would not have happened.”

Lambert designed the Saidye Bronfman Centre in the 1960s (named for her mother) and brought famed architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe to the Seagram Building project in New York and the iconic Toronto Dominion Centre in Toronto.

Lambert founded Heritage Montreal in 1975 and lead the fight against an early design for Place Montreal Trust that would have obscured the view of Mount Royal.

Last December, she stepped down as chair of the board of the Canadian Centre for Architecture, which she founded in 1979. Read more…

City of Vancouver invites entries for inaugural Urban Design Awards

The City of Vancouver invites entries for its inaugural Urban Design Awards which will celebrate design excellence in our city.

Submissions are now being accepted for designs that reflect the highest standards in architecture and urban design and contribute to Vancouver’s vibrancy and livability:

To be eligible, projects must have received an occupancy permit after January 1, 2012 and be located within the municipal boundaries of the city of Vancouver. Awards will be presented at a ceremony to celebrate all entries and to honour winners on September 15th.

Entry details are available online at The deadline for applications is Monday, July 14, 2014 at 4 pm.


Architectural Technologist Examination

The next Architectural Technologist Examination has been scheduled for Thursday, June 19th, 2014 at 2pm and will take place at the AIBC offices. You will find the exam application form and the exam outline on the AIBC web site.  Eligibility requirements are outlined in full on the application form.  Please note that the AIBC’s Ethics, Act and Bylaws courses is a pre-requisite to sitting this exam.

If you are eligible and wish to apply to write the exam, please submit your application and fees by June 11, 2014.

Note to those individuals who were transferred to the Architectural Technologist class of associates from the Building Designer or Residential Designer classes: as communicated to you previously, you are required to sit the Architectural Technologist Exam by the end of 2014. There will be one more sitting before the end of 2014, on November 20th.

If you have any questions, please contact AIBC Admissions Coordinator, Belinda Chao at

Women In Architecture – Summer Party

Join Women In Architecture at their annual Summer rejuvenation / visioning party.  Come along with your enthusiasm, your ideas, and your friends.

WIA will provide some refreshments.
Feel free to bring a plate of food or bottle of wine to share.

The event will take place:
Thursday, June 12th 6.30-9
DIALOG Office – 3rd Floor
611 Alexander St, Vancouver
Call 778 320 4979 for access

Please RSVP if you plan on attending.

AIBC Recognition Awards – Call for Nominations

The AIBC believes in recognizing our volunteers and other individuals who have made positive impacts in the profession of architecture. 

Do you know worthy candidates who should be recognized for their contributions to the profession, the community or the Institute?

Call for Nominations 
Nominations for the following AIBC Recognition Awards are now open and will be accepted until 
August 18, 2014

AIBC Lifetime Achievement Award

This prestigious award, established in 2013, is intended to recognize current or former B.C. architects who have made exceptional, sustained and significant contributions to the profession of architecture and its public appreciation in the province through an outstanding, career-long body of work.  Consideration will be given to those with notable work across an entire career generally greater than 25 years and may be bestowed posthumously.

AIBC Special Certificate of Recognition

This award is intended to honor AIBC architects, other individual registrants or architectural firms who have made positive contributions to the practice or profession of architecture through volunteer activities.

The Barbara Dalrymple Memorial Award for Community Service

Established in honor of the late Barbara Dalrymple, a prominent Vancouver architect with a strong commitment to her profession and the community, this award recognizes contributions made by AIBC architects, individual registrants or architectural firms, in the spirit of Barbara’s dedication to positive change and her legacy of professional and public service.

Nomination Forms

Visit the AIBC website to download a nomination form for each award category.

Nominations for all AIBC Recognition Awards are reviewed by the AIBC Recognition Committee.  Nominations that meet the awards’ criteria are recommended to and selected by AIBC Council.

This year’s awards ceremony is scheduled to take place on November 20, 2014, at VanDusen Botanical Garden.

For more information about the AIBC Recognition Awards Program, please contact Gayle Roberts at 604-683-8588, extension 310; or by email at