2013 Lulu Awards Recipients

The Lulu Awards, held every two years since 2008, are open to architects, designers, developers, landscape architects, planners, engineers, owners, contractors and the general public. A variety of project types are eligible, including residential, commercial, industrial, mixed-use, open spaces, public utilities and recreational projects. Mayor Malcolm Brodie stated that, “The Lulu Awards are dedicated to encouraging and celebrating great urban design here in our city. Each of this year’s winners, along with all the award nominees, distinctly represent the rich urban design we seek and enjoy in Richmond.”

Winning in the Residential (Townhouse) category: Currents at London Landing developed by Oris Consulting Ltd. and designed by Hearth Architectural Inc. and van der Zalm + associates. The higher density building form fits well into an established neighbourhood and streetscape of townhouses and single family homes and includes single level units which increase housing options by providing an alternative to apartment uilding units.

Winning in the Residential and Mixed-Use (High-rise) category: River Green developed by ASPAC Developments Ltd. and designed by James K.M. Cheng Architects Inc. and Phillips Farevaag Smallenberg Studio. This stunning development sits on the banks of the Fraser River in the Oval Village. Terraced residential apartment buildings vary in height from 4 to 14-storeys, with carefully-considered architectural and landscape design and a significant public art installation on the sides of a pedestrian bridge between two of the buildings.

Winning in the Public and Institutional Building category: Steveston Fire Hall designed by Hughes Condon Marler Architects and space2place design inc. This landmark building sits at the corner of Steveston Highway and No. 2 Road. The two-storey fire hall project was designed to a LEED gold standard and includes two equipment bays and a training and hose drying tower. The building was designed with an innovative open design approach incorporating visual openness and a high level of integration in the site, building, sustainability features, landscaping and public art.

This year’s judging panel included three independent judges – landscape architect, Mr. Jeff Cutler, BCSLA; urban designer, Ms. Joyce Drohan, Architect AIBC, and architect Mr. Michael Heeney, Architect AIBC, FRAIC, as well as City judges Mr. Joe Erceg, General Manager of Planning and Development; and Mr. Wayne Craig, Director of Development.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: