Urban Change Comes to Surrey

By Kerry Gold, The Globe and Mail
May 24, 2013

Right now, it’s just a construction site surrounded by trailers, tucked under light rapid transit rails near Surrey Central station. But in less than three years, Surrey’s tallest building and first luxury hotel will stand, butted up against the SkyTrain, adjacent to the new city hall and Bing Thom-designed City Centre Library. Three Civic Plaza, as it’s called, is “ground zero,” for what is rapidly becoming Surrey’s downtown core, also known as Surrey City Centre, says Jim Cox, president of Surrey City Development Corp. (SCDC). More …

‘Cubist Tree’ Blooms at New UBC Sciences Building

By Mark Hume, Globe and Mail
May 28, 2013

Described as “a kind of cubist tree,” the new pharmaceutical sciences building at the University of British Columbia is attracting international architectural awards – and top researchers from other institutions. Featuring a design inspired by the structure of a forest, with unaligned staircases that wander between floors like branches, and atriums that draw sunlight deep into the structure, the building seems a natural fit on a campus renowned for its beautiful setting. More …

AIBC Council Election Results

As announced at the 2013 AIBC Annual Meeting on Saturday, June 1, the following members were successful in their candidacy for AIBC Council:

  • Darryl Condon Architect AIBC
  • Mona Jahedi Architect AIBC
  • Scott Kemp Architect AIBC
  • Catherine Nickerson Architect AIBC
  • Sean Ruthen Architect AIBC

Each was elected to a two-year term on council. Derek DeLand IA.AIBC was approved by acclamation as the new Intern Architect Liaison to council. At its subsequent meeting following adjournment of the annual meeting, council elected its slate of officers for the 2013/2014 council year:

  • President: Scott Kemp Architect AIBC
  • Vice-President: Darryl Condon Architect AIBC
  • Treasurer: Cal Meiklejohn Architect AIBC
  • Registrar: Gord Richards Architect AIBC

David Yustin Architect AIBC will serve as Past President, a non-voting seat on council. For the full listing of AIBC Council members, elected and appointed, as well as invited representatives, visit the AIBC web site.