Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence

Canadian Architect magazine has revealed the list of winners for its 2012 Awards of Excellence, including three AIBC firms among the nine awards given:

  • BattersbyHowat Architects Inc. (Vancouver) for the UBC Geological Field School in Oliver, BC;
  • Kobayashi + Zedda Architects (Whitehorse, YT) for the Children’s First Centre in Inuvik, Northwest Territories; and
  • Zeidler Partnership Architects (Vancouver) for the GO Roof, Union Station in Toronto.

Additional winners include:

  • Atelier Big City, Fichten Soiferman et Associés, L’OEUF for the Centre Culturel de Notre-Dame-de-Grâce in Montreal, Quebec;
  • Dundee Kilmer Integrated Design Team: Joint Venture of architectsAlliance and Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects in association with Daoust Lestage Inc. and MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects for the 2015 Pan Am/Parapan American Games Athletes’ Village | Canary District in Toronto, Ontario;
  • L’OEUF for the House in Four Fields in La Conception, Quebec;
  • The Marc Boutin Architectural Collaborative Inc. + el dorado inc (associated architectural firm) for the 1st Street SW Underpass Enhancement in Calgary, Alberta;
  • Paul Laurendeau | Francois R Beauchesne | Architectes en Consortium for the Ampthithéâtre Trois-Rivières sur Saint-Laurent in Trois-Rivières, Quebec; and
  • T B A | Thomas Balaban Architecte for the Spa Le St-Jude in Montreal, Quebec.

Two Awards of Merit were also given out:

  • Lemay (LemayLab) for the Mount Stephen Club in Montreal, Quebec; and
  • gh3 for the Real Time Control Building #3 in Edmonton, Alberta.

In addition, two post-secondary architecture students received an Award of Excellence for their graduating thesis projects:

  • Danielle Berwick, University of Toronto, for Theatrics of Psychiatry; and
  • Andrew Neuman, University of British Columbia, for Human Space: Density for Community and the Socio-Ecological Neighbourhood.

These annual awards, established in 1968, are given to architects and architectural graduates for building projects in the design stage. The awards recognize architectural design excellence with consideration given to response to program, site, geographical and social context, as well as evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features. This year’s awards jury included Donald Chong (Williamson Chong Architects, Toronto), Marie-Chantal Croft (Coarchitecture, Quebec City) and Bruce Haden Architect AIBC (DIALOG, Vancouver). Full coverage of the winning projects can be found in the December 2012 issue of Canadian Architect. For more information about the Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence and to view the winning projects, go to

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: