Council Changes

LG Resignations

Effective September 14, 2012,  three of the four Lieutenant Governor Appointees to AIBC Council have resigned. The Ministry of Advanced Education has accepted the formal resignations of Owen Pawson B.Arch LL.B., Richard Peddie Ph.D., and Tim Spiegel B.Sc PQS MRICS, and is now actively seeking replacements. The provincial government makes LG appointments to regulatory bodies such as the AIBC with the express purpose of protecting the public interest. Government postings for these three public representative vacancies on AIBC Council are in development and will be available in the very near future through the province’s Board Resourcing and Development Office.

Messrs. Pawson, Peddie and Spiegel are no longer active with the institute. In the spirit of moving forward on a positive note, I would like to thank all three for their years of service to the public and the AIBC. I look forward to working with the new LG Appointees in the very near future.

David Yustin  Architect AIBC
AIBC Council President

New Rep on Council

Professor Chris Macdonald FRAIC, a full-time faculty member at the University of British Columbia’s School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, is now the designated UBC SALA representative to the AIBC Council. He replaces Professor Leslie Van Duzer, who has removed herself from council for the remainder of the 2012/2013 academic year due to scheduling conflicts. Macdonald is a former director of SALA and a past council member, having served as the UBC SALA representative on two different occasions.