Deadline: 2012 Western Living Designers of the Year Awards

A reminder that the entry deadline for the 2012 Western Living Designers of the Year Awards is Monday, April 16, 2012. Award categories include Architecture, Eco, Fashion, Furniture, Industrial, Interiors, Industrial, Landscape, and the Arthur Erickson Memorial Award for an emerging architect or designer. This year’s judges include: designer Omer Arbel; architect Peter Busby CM MAIBC FRAIC AIA MAAA MOAA BCID LEEd AP ; interior designer Robert Ledingham; Thomas Mueller, President – Canada Green Building Council, and architect Bing Thom CM MAIBC FRAIC AIA LLD. For further details, submission guidelines and to enter, go online to

Architecture’s Ugly Ducklings May Not Get Time to be Swans

By Robin Pogrebin, New York Time
April 7, 2012

As Modernist buildings reach middle age, many of the stark structures that once represented the architectural vanguard are showing signs of wear, setting off debates around the country between preservationists, who see them as historic landmarks, and the many people who just see them as eyesores. The conflict has come in recent months to this quaint village 60 miles north of New York City — with its historic harness-racing track, picturesque Main Street and Greek Revival, Federal and Victorian houses — where the blocky concrete county government center designed by the celebrated Modernist architect Paul Rudolph has always been something of a misfit. More … 

Annual Meeting and Special Meeting on May 12

A reminder that the AIBC’s 2012 Annual Meeting takes place Saturday, May 12 at the BCIT Downtown Campus, 555 Seymour Street, Vancouver. The meeting will begin at 1:00 p.m. with registration starting at 12:30 p.m.. The meeting package, including agenda, draft minutes from the 2011 Annual Meeting, Honorary Membership nominee, President’s Report, Auditor’s Report and proposed bylaw amendments, will be mailed directly to all members. It can also be found here.

Prior to the annual meeting will be a Special Meeting of the AIBC in response to a members’ petition, as previously announced. It will also take place at the BCIT Downtown Campus beginning at 8:45 a.m. (registration at 8:00 a.m.).  To review the Special Meeting agenda and petitioners’ proposed bylaw resolutions and advisory motions, click here.