Canadian Architects Awards

Canadian Architect magazine has announced the selections for its 2011 Awards of Excellence, and the AIBC is well-represented. These annual awards recognize architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. This year’s winners were selected by a jury consisting of Walter Francl MAIBC (Walter Francl Architecture, Vancouver), Diarmuid Nash (Moriyama & Teshima Architects, Toronto) and Peter Sampson (Peter Sampson Architecture Studio, Winnipeg). The jury considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features. Among the eight Awards of Excellence given for 2011 are the following AIBC member firms:

  • B+H Bunting Coady Architects Inc. for the West Coast Middle School in Anmore, British Columbia
  • Patkau Architects Inc. in joint venture with Kearns Mancini Architects Inc. for the Fort York National Historic Site Visitor Centre in Toronto, Ontario
  • Zeidler Partnership Architects in joint venture with SNØHETTA for the Ryerson University Student Learning Centre in Toronto, Ontario
  • Saucier + Perrotte architectes in joint venture with Hughes Condon Marler Architects for the UBC Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD in Vancouver, British Columbia

In addition, there are four Awards of Merit including:

  • McFarland Marceau Architects Inc. for the Environmental Learning Centre in Brackendale, British Columbia
  • gh3 Architects and Landscape Architects and Kasian Architects Interior Design and Planning Ltd. for Castle Downs Park Pavilion in Edmonton, Alberta

This year’s winning projects will be featured in the e December 2011 issue of the magazine.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: